The William Saroyan Story Writing Contest 2009

2009 Award Winners

Each honoree’s name is followed by the name of their school and the city/state in which they reside.

Grades 1-2

1st Ryan Bishop – Quail Lake Charter (Clovis);2nd Ryan M. Hioe – Garfield Elementary (Clovis);

3rd Mark Topoozian – Malloch (Fresno)

Grades 3-4

1st Talie Lynn Cloud – Quail Lake (Clovis); 2nd Adam Abajian – Quail Lake (Clovis); 3rd Morgan McLaury – Sun Empire (Kerman)

Honorable Mention: Jordan Ayerza – Sun Empire (Kerman); Amanda Street – Big Creek Elementary (Big Creek); Macey Hammerstrom – Reagan Elementary (Kingsburg)

Grades 5-6

1st Leslie Chavez – Powers-Ginsburg (Fresno);2nd Samantha C. Apodaca – Fancher Creek (Fresno)

3rd Uriel Bosques – Powers-Ginsburg (Fresno)

Honorable Mention:  Luis Figueroa – Powers-Ginsburg (Fresno);Brandon Pattillo – Powers-Ginsburg (Fresno)

Grades 7-9

1st Faith McCoy – Mariposa Middle School (Mariposa); 2nd Chlorissa Prothro – Foothill Middle School (Tollhouse); 3rd Arianna Brown – Central H.S. West (Fresno)

Honorable Mention:  Sandra Limon – Bullard H.S. (Fresno); Pamela Bobadilla – Edison H.S. (Fresno)

William Tang – Kastner Intermediate (Fresno); Kristin Simmons – Rayburn Intermediate (Clovis)

Julia Crespi – Mariposa Middle School (Mariposa); Raquel Campozano – El Monte Middle School (Orosi)

Grades 10-12

1st Quinn Western – San Joaquin Memorial (Fresno);2nd Charles M. Kennedy – The Wardlaw-Hartridge School (Edison, N.J.; 3rd Elijah Cotton – J.C. Montgomery (Hanford)

Honorable Mention:  Molly Kim Lao – Sunnyside H.S. (Fresno)


1st Christel Teesy – Fresno Pacific University (Fresno); 2nd Eileen Frank – College of the Sequoias (Visalia); 3rd Deborah Hamilton – Clovis Center (Clovis)

Leave a Reply